7 start-ups that are revolutionizing test preparation

When I was applying to business school, I paid ~$500 for Kaplan’s online GMAT prep course. Twice. Basically what happened is I signed up for it, then procrastinated for a few months, had to reschedule my GMAT, and by the time I finally got around to cramming time, my original subscription to the Kaplan course had expired, so I had to buy a new one.

Why did I do that? Probably because I was lazy, and Kaplan was the first name that came to mind when I thought about preparing for the GMAT.

But move over Kaplan! The times are a-changing and a new generation of innovative startups are revolutionizing the world of standardized test preparation.



The Innovator:
Knewton
The Concept: Adaptive learning technology dynamically matches users with just the right content to maximize their learning.


The Innovator: Grockit
The Concept: A social network for learning: social gaming and group studying keep you engaged and motivated while you prepare.



The Innovator: Next Step Test Prep
The Concept: Personalized one-on-one tutoring either in person or virtually for less than the of the cost of a crowded in-class course.



The Innovator: Magoosh
The Concept: Online video tutorials take you through GMAT practice problems with intuitive diagrams and schematics. Ideal for visual learners.



The Innovator: SMS Prep
The Concept: Practice problems delivered directly to your phone via text message so you can squeeze in some study time on-the-go.



The Innovator: Watermelon Express
The Concept: Apps for iPhone, iPad, desktop and web that bring a social and competitive element to test preparation.



The Innovator: 2minute GMAT
The Concept: Daily emails with 10 GMAT questions, plus expert tips to help you study.


This entry was posted in Entrepreneurship, GMAT and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 7 start-ups that are revolutionizing test preparation

  1. John says:

    Thanks for the article Chiara — MBA applicants and GMAT-takers have way more options than they did just a few years ago — options which are often more convenient and more cost-effective.

    John
    Next Step Test Preparation
    http://www.nextsteptestprep.com

  2. Monex says:

    Constant assessment across dimensions such as difficulty frequency and media maximizes learning efficiency and concept mastery.

  3. Meghan says:

    One thing you may possibly want to investigate, I’ve recently been utilizing a WP tool that immediately changes key terms of my choosing directly into affiliate hyperlinks, and embeds all of them in articles on my web site.

    I wager you increase your site income 55-65 percent.

    Just a notion.

    I bring this up due to the fact I do not see you utilizing it here, and that is more or less a total waste of sales revenue.

    Download It Here

  4. Abbey says:

    I tried Eduwizards.com for GMAT test preparation. The thing I liked most is that I was able to contact a tutor anytime since it was online tutoring service.

  5. I go to see day-to-day a few web sites and information sites to read articles, however this web site provides quality based
    posts.

Leave a Reply

